The Best Christmas Present Ever

You need nothing but love and support

Danny Oak
3 min readDec 28, 2023

--

Photo by Rinck Content Studio on Unsplash

I’ve been away. I’ve been to some dark places, dangerous territories, and nasty environments, all without ever leaving home.

I’ve been lost. I’ve become someone undesirable, unreliable, and unlikeable, all the things I never wanted to be.

I’ve been feeling so bad that I don’t even want to write about it, and I haven’t published anything in months.

The reason for that is weakness. I let adversity influence my performance. I used obstacles as excuses to justify my flaws. I was weak.

Christmas

This Christmas Eve, feeling as shitty as I’ve been feeling for the last few months, I got handed my son’s present to me. He was distributing the presents to the small bunch that spent Christmas with us, and I knew he was especially excited by that gift to me. After all, he made it himself the week before, and he has been telling me about it ever since.

It was 2 paper sheets with some hand drawings, taped together to form an envelope, with some papers inside.

He likes to do this kind of stuff, he calls it “Blind Bags”, as they always have some surprise inside, also made by him.

--

--

Danny Oak

Writer | Writing about my journey to become who I want to be. Join my newsletter SOAK for exclusive content. Join here: http://bit.ly/3y0jT0Z